College Question 231

When you had the desire to run

I had the desire to run when I was in first grade. I just joined a football team and one of the fastest players. I really enjoyed running after the ball, scoring of course. Running was just the best part. I noticed that I like running more than playing football. That was when I was in fourth grade. After leaving the football team I switched to Triathlon. Swimming, cycling and running. It was pretty fun to do. It took up all my time, especially on the weekends. Getting up early, and start training. But also before school, weaking up at 5 a.m. to go running was really intense. But I enjoyed it.

I did this for a couple of years, my motivation was to be placed far in front in the competitions. I always came fourth but never third, second or first, because always the same people were present. This went on for about two to three years. Then finally, getting older, meaning to get higher in the age groups during the competitions, the distances increased. I also got bumped up a league, competing again the best out of the state was a lot of fun. That really gave me the desire to run, a lot and fast. The first year I was far behind, as I was new in the age group. In the age group there are two years. Meaning there are people that could be 14 years old and people that are 15 years old. Of course the older people are faster. But the next year still being in the same age group, but being on of the older one‘s improved my placements. This is what really gave me the desire to run.